New Year's Day

The Best of 1990-2000
New Year's Day
History of the Band
Under a Blood Red Sky
The Unforgettable Fire
Wide Awake in America
The Joshua Tree
Rattle and Hum
Achtung Baby!
Original Soundtrack No. 1
The Best of 1980 - 1990
Hasta La Vista Baby!
All That You Can't Leave Behind
The Best of 1990-2000
How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb
U218 Singles

a greatest hits album...

The Best of 1990-2000 is a greatest hits compilation released in November 2002. It takes a decidedly revisionist approach and includes various remixed and re-recorded tracks and two entirely new songs. It was preceded a week in advance by a limited edition containing a special B-sides disc and a bonus DVD. In December of the same year, a companion DVD (featuring music videos and live footage) was released.


It includes two new songs. "Electrical Storm" was released as a single. "The Hands That Built America" appeared on the soundtrack to Martin Scorsese's Gangs of New York film (with a different, more traditional arrangement than the one here).


It is also the first full U2 release to include "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me", a 1995 single originally contributed to the Batman Forever soundtrack, and "Miss Sarajevo", another 1995 single originally released on Original Soundtracks No. 1 as "Passengers".


The DVD edition is remarkably extensive and often includes multiple videos of each song, director's commentary, several songs completely unavailable on the CD editions, and three short documentary pieces.



Best Of

   1. "Even Better Than the Real Thing" (3:39)

   2. "Mysterious Ways" (edit) (4:02)

   3. "Beautiful Day" (4:05)

   4. "Electrical Storm (William Orbit Mix)" (4:37)

   5. "One" (4:35)

   6. "Miss Sarajevo" (edit) (4:30)

   7. "Stay (Faraway, So Close!)" (4:58)

   8. "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of" (4:31)

   9. "Gone" (remix) (4:32)

  10. "Until the End of the World" (4:38)

  11. "The Hands That Built America" (4:57)

  12. "Discothèque" (remix) (4:40)

  13. "Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me" (4:44)

  14. "Staring at the Sun" (remix) (4:48)

  15. "Numb" (remix) (4:21)

  16. "The First Time" (3:44)




   1. "Lady With the Spinning Head" (Extended Dance Mix) (6:06)

   2. "Dirty Day" (Junk Day Mix) (4:40)

   3. "Summer Rain" (4:07)

   4. "Electrical Storm" (4:26)

   5. "North and South of the River" (4:36)

   6. "Your Blue Room" (5:26)

   7. "Happiness is a Warm Gun" (The Gun Mix) (4:45)

   8. "Salomé" (Zooromancer Remix Edit) (5:51)

   9. "Even Better Than the Real Thing" (The Perfecto Mix) (6:38)

  10. "Numb" (Gimme Some More Dignity Edit) (5:50)

  11. "Mysterious Ways" (Solar Plexus Club Mix) (4:08)

  12. "If God Will Send His Angels" (Big Yam Mix) (5:42)

  13. "Lemon" (Jeep Mix) (5:29)

  14. "Discothèque" (Hexidecimal Edit) (5:45)


Enter supporting content here

+++++ my U2 fansite +++++